Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums >
  • General Chit-Chat (non-quilting talk)
  • my miccrowave timer died- it's only 21 yr old >
  • my miccrowave timer died- it's only 21 yr old

• my miccrowave timer died- it's only 21 yr old

Old 11-08-2011, 03:12 PM

Default my miccrowave timer died- it's only 21 yr old

I was cooking sweet potatoes and starting smelling this really odd smell...then it started smelling burnt. Oh, wow, sweet potatoes burn...I've never done that before.

So we may splurge and buy a new one. We're wanting to get an over the range one with the exhaust attached. I want one that has a good exhaust. I'll be visiting the different home stores to see what's available.

What brands have you liked? Have you tried installing one yourself? Was it difficult to do?

Thanks
    Old 11-08-2011, 03:18 PM
    Power Poster

I have a Samsung and I love it.
    Old 11-08-2011, 03:33 PM

I just purchased my third one. My first one was a Tappan many years ago, it was eventually struck by lightening. I had my second a good while and then it went out completely. Someone gave me my third one and then it went out. I have had this one about a month and so far everything seems o.k. I was smart this time and purchased the insurance from Sears. It is a Kenmore. It seems that appliances don't last very long these days. Mine have all been countertop microwave ovens. Good luck with making a choice.
    Old 11-08-2011, 06:23 PM

I've had my Kenmore countertop microwave for 14-15 years & never had a problem with it. I'm still using my Kenmore stove that was bought in 1972. The only thing that doesn't work on that is the timer--no big deal since I don't cook much anyway.
    Old 11-08-2011, 07:50 PM