Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums >
  • Introduce Yourself
  • Hello from Appalachia! >
  • Hello from Appalachia!

• Hello from Appalachia!

Old 10-09-2007, 04:18 AM

Hi!
    My name is Emma. I have been receiving mails from this site for awhile and have finally decided to join. I am approaching the "sunset" years of my life, but think that maybe, through all of my hard working and nonsensical experiences, that I might be able to add a moment or two of lightheartedness/humor and who knows? Maybe even a tip or two about sewing/quilting??? I have been sewing since I was 6 years old. I was the last of 11 children with a gap of 8 years between my next older sibling and I. (There had been 2 deaths in between.) My brother and sisters say that I was always spoiled... Moi??? No way!!! Back to the subject: My Mother, (yes, with a capitol) was my hero. She had the patience of Job, but sadly became afflicted with Alzheimers disease in her mid 50's and finally went to her resting place after 18 years of total not-knowing. She taught me that whatever was worth doing was "worth doing well," wash your feet every day if you don't wash anything else, (does that one really make sense??? don't know, but I still wash my feet everyday! :) "Wear it in; wear it out, do with what you got, or do without." Hmm, some people have probably figured my approximate age by now, right? OK, 'fess up time: I'll be 70 in January. I was a practicing RN for 35 years. (Always wondered why they say Doctors and Nurses PRACTICE..... I guess they just can't figure out how to do it right!)
    Anyhow, sewing has been on the back burner for awhile with me, and it's good to get back to it...
    Thanks for reading; I look forward to putting in some worthwhile info in the near future...
    In stitches,
    Em
    Old 10-09-2007, 04:51 AM

welcome from Alabama you already know about how great this program is so let us see some quilts Happy Quilting memawsaquilting
    Old 10-09-2007, 04:54 AM

Hi Emma,