Hello

Old 07-18-2024, 07:00 AM

Smile Hello

Hi Everyone,
I happy to be joining all of you. I have been quilting for many years. I started off in my late teens with a - just sew together left-over sewing scraps and back it with a sheet - but in the past several years, I've been enthralled with the internet in learning how to actually learn the methods of quilting and making actual quilting patterns. I can say it has been exciting to learn so many new things, and finally move on to actually having the right equipment and better sewing machines and learning machine quilting on a domestic machine.

I'm currently working on a throw, made with different size panels and having a bit of an issue with getting it organized to how I want the layout. (I keep changing my mind in how I want the panels to be placed)

I am also putting together a Grandmothers Fan quilt (Queen Size) and I'm at the stage of getting ready to put the batting and backing on the different sections. I generally do 'quilt as you go', block by block, but have recently started doing quilt as you go, in sections. Though I have done multiple quilts with sashing, I also am liking doing the 'quilt as you go' without sashing a little more so, because then the front looks like it is done in one piece and if I do the back in a pattern fabric, it is also hard to see where the different sections have been attached to each other.

However, when through my yearly mammogram, I recently learned I have breast cancer, I've been on pause from my craft room for a couple of months with starting the initial treatment. But I'm wanting some normalcy back and to keep my thoughts from wandering, I'm ready to get back into my craft room and get back to my quilting (as much as I can) and lose myself in it as I go through the treatment. Anyhow, enough about that, perhaps TMI, but it may help if others are facing the same health issues, for chatting with each other.