Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums >
  • Introduce Yourself
  • Hi - New Quilter. Looking for a pattern idea >
  • Hi - New Quilter. Looking for a pattern idea

• Hi - New Quilter. Looking for a pattern idea

Old 07-12-2008, 05:30 AM

Hi there!
    I'm 22 years old, live in Texas.

I am relatively new to quilting. The first quilt I finished was for my mom and dad's anniversary, this past March. I had their names and wedding date embroidered on it, and machine quilted it myself. I only have a photo of the top but here it is:

I am working on a quilt for my grandparents right now, their 50th anniversary is in a month. I really need to get it finished. I got all the fabric cut and sorted into the shapes, and sewed the first star last night. I was so pleased with it, I took so much time carefully cutting and it paid off, all of the seams lined up PERFECTLY in the star. The edges are another matter but I think I can trim it okay.
    Here is the pattern:

and the fabrics I chose:

Anyway, I just got a bunch of "charm" squares in lots of great colors. 2" and 4" squares. I saw a pattern once that used lots of colorful squares only on a white background and formed diagonal lines criss crossing. I can't seem to find one like that online, I know I had it before in my bookmarks but I lost it.
    Does anyone know of any free patterns online like that? Or anything cool I could do with these using a white bg?

Later I will be making a quilt in fall colors for my MIL but I have no idea what pattern I will use for her :)

Thanks and I look forward to chatting with everyone!!
    Old 07-12-2008, 05:42 AM

The colors you picked are wonderful. For a "new" quilter, that pattern looks scary to me. Of course I try to stick with squares and triangles, I'm not so adventuresome as of yet. Good luck and can't wait to see the finished product. By the way, blue and white quilt was very pretty also.
    Old 07-12-2008, 05:44 AM