Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums >
  • Introduce Yourself
  • Intro and a question >
  • Intro and a question

• Intro and a question

Old 08-12-2024, 06:14 AM

Default Intro and a question

Hi everyone. I'm relatively new to quilting, though I have made various sewing projects and a small quilted bag before. To be honest, I don't have a lot of time to dedicate to sewing, as I have five children ranging from teen to toddler.

The reason I joined is that I am looking for some advice. My great-great-grandmother liked to make quilts, and I inherited a quilt top that she made. As you might imagine, it's rather old, and I want to try to preserve it the best that I can while finishing her work and making a quilt. Do you have any advice for me as to the best way to go about this? Would it be a good idea to reinforce the top with another layer of fabric underneath?
    ​​​​​​
    Thanks I'm advance!
    Old 08-12-2024, 06:29 AM

#1, I'd wait until I had more experience
    #2 Find out when the closest quilt guild meets, go with your top, and ask advice there
    #3 take it into a local quilt shop and ask advice there.

we can't offer much help without lots of pictures, and our advice might just confuse you...lots of opinions here
    Welcome! we have a number of young mothers here who share your time constraints! I'm a childless cat lady, but when I worked full time, because I'm a morning person I always got out early and dedicated at least 15 minutes to a project. Amazing what you can get done with organization!
    Old 08-12-2024, 07:26 AM
    Power Poster

I second KalamaQuilt's advice.

It has been "waiting" for this long - another "while" won't hurt it any.

A lot has to do with the condition of the top - are the fabrics deteriorating? are the seams holding together? do you like it?

Old 08-12-2024, 08:11 AM