Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums >
  • Introduce Yourself
  • machine quilting >
  • machine quilting

• machine quilting

Old 03-04-2007, 12:07 PM

Hello all,
    I am new to quilting as well as to this group.
    I have just completed my first quilt top and the sandwich process all is left is the quilting. I have decided to do this on my sewing machine. does anyone have any helpful hints to make the process run smooth.
    Thank you for help.
    :D
    Old 03-04-2007, 03:23 PM
    Banned

Hi t.farmer and welcome. Congrats on finishing your first quilt top!! One piece of advice I can offer is to relax, take your time and have fun. Quilts don't have to be perfect..thank God! :D Remember to quilt from the center point out. Are you doing stitch-in-the-ditch or something else? Please post a picture when it is all done ok? I am sure others will be on and have lots of other ideas for you.
    Have a good night everyone.
    Old 03-05-2007, 09:03 AM

thank you for the advise.
    I will be stitch in the ditch. this is my first and dont want to make too complicated.
    thanks again
    Tammy
    Old 03-05-2007, 11:42 AM

Welcome!!! I do alot of machine quilting and one recommendation I would have to say is-if your quilt is fairly big, baste alot. I use safety pins and basting to hold everything in place. Oh and try to hold your quilt with support under it so it doesn't pull down. And then just have fun. Good advice about relaxing. You tend to tense your shoulders when machine quilting!!! And you don't realize it until its too late and you're sore!!!

Hope this helps.
    Old 03-05-2007, 03:19 PM

Thank you for your helpful hints.
    the quilt is 50x70.
    support and pin basting I have done those and they are both very helpful.
    The first day I started My hands ached, but I must have finally relaxed and the discomfort disapeared. My shoulders havent bothered me.