Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums >
  • Introduce Yourself
  • Newbie from Indiana.  Basic hand-holding required. >
  • Newbie from Indiana. Basic hand-holding required.

• Newbie from Indiana. Basic hand-holding required.

Old 04-21-2011, 06:58 AM

I've been wanting to learn to quilt for years but I don't know anyone nearby who quilts. What sewing skills I have are pretty much self-taught. So, last week, I bought a book "First-Time Quiltmaking" It's been a lot of help and I have learned a lot.
    I followed the step by step lesson and finished my first quilt top yesterday. The problem is.....the lessons only make 36.5 x 48.5 quilts. :?:

I can figure out how to enlarge the top to make it a usable quilt for a queen size bed, but I'm nervous about going out on my own for binding.

Do you guys suggest I keep following the pattern and make the quilt the suggested size so I get the hang of binding or can I attempt to adapt it without making a mess of things?
    Old 04-21-2011, 07:02 AM

Hi and welcome from the sunny state of Florida by way of Marion, IN.!!

Go ahead and make the quilt the size you want, it's your quilt! There's quite a few members on this board from IN. someone might live close to you!
    Old 04-21-2011, 07:09 AM

Queen size is usually around 84 X 92

Without a picture of the quilt, can't determine if it's a quilt that can be easily disassembled and reconstructed differently to make a larger size, or one where you could simply add more blocks.

Without knowing that I can only comment on enlarging by using borders. Modifying yours by using borders would require very large borders indeed (24 on one side, 22 on the other). I dont' have a queen bed to measure, but if the size of the quilt you have now centers/covers the top of the bed edge to edge, it may not look bad/odd by adding really wide borders for the overhang.

If you would like more suggestions, it would be best to add a photo so we know how to best achieve it.