Old 06-03-2020, 05:21 PM

Default Newbie

I am a newbie to sewing and quilting. I'm also interested in embroidery and do not know which machine is best for me. My dealer says she has a babylock destiny which was a show piece she can let me have for $2500.00 with full warranty. I feel that it's a great price, but I m hesitant because I was looking for a Janome to match my sewing machine. Should I stick with the Destiny?
Old 06-03-2020, 05:48 PM

Welcome to the Quilting Board. I don't have an answer for you because I don't do embroidery & haven't a clue as to a good deal or not. Hopefully, someone will come along to give you some suggestions. This board is full of helpful & encouraging quilters. We love pictures here & want to see what you are making.
Old 06-03-2020, 06:10 PM

If this is a dealer that used the machine as a Demo Model I would probably go for it. Full warranty, any lessons? I know Babylock is a great brand. Check out what a new one costs.
I have a Janome MC6600P. And when I got it I did not want an embroidery machine, even though I wanted one for years. So one day I took my little Feather Weight in to be serviced at the local repair shop and he asked me if I wanted to look at an embroidery machine - he's a dealer for Husqvarna, Viking, and Elna. I said I didn't have $4K for a machine and he sold me a floor model Viking Designer Topaz for less than half - full warranty - and lessons. It was wonderful He even taught me how to download the designs from the CD's and the internet. He also offered if I wanted to upgrade within a year he would give me the full purchase price as a trade in. How could I say no? And I have not had one minute of regret. It has only needing servicing once in 4 years. I do clean it out often.
There are great programs out there for you to buy. My dealer didn't sell them so I bought mine at the Road to CA show.