Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums >
  • Introduce Yourself
  • Quilting Small Pieces >
  • Quilting Small Pieces

• Quilting Small Pieces

Old 08-27-2007, 03:50 PM
    Banned

I am new to chat boards and new to real quilting. I live in east Texas. I have 1 son and 2 grandsons. I retired 2-1-2001. I have always wanted to make a quilt so, I got some paper and started drawing. Four months later I had a pattern to make a denim quilt. My brothers-in-law gave me all of there old jeans. All I can say about it is "It will keep you warm." Then I started another quilt and I have been working on it for 2 years. I hope to learn the correct way to put a quilt together. I have a question. How do you hold a small piece of material to keep the end of the seam straight going in the machine?
    Old 08-27-2007, 04:04 PM

you can use long pins and pull them at the last minute, or have pins to the left. some people use little sticks. I'm sure there will be more answers for you. there are a lot of great quilters here and some of the friendlist people anywhere. A big welcome to you :P :lol: :) :-) :D :wink: :roll: :lol: :D :-D :thumbup: ;-) :) :D :-D :lol: :lol: :roll: :roll: :wink: ;) :-P :P :-o
    Old 08-27-2007, 04:37 PM
    lin

Hi and welcome sharrel. :) It might help to put a pin right near the bottom of the two pieces you're putting together. Sometimes the top fabric will "walk" forward a little and cause the top and bottom to misalign right at the end of the seam. When I put a pin at the bottom and "ease" the seam as I go down, it usually helps alleviate that problem. I also check often as I'm going down a seam to make sure that the edges are staying together. Nothing worse than having the bottom layer slip to the left!!

All I can say about my first few quilts is "It will keep them warm" too. LOL You just stick with it and before you know it, you'll be an old pro! :D
    Old 08-27-2007, 05:07 PM

Welcome, Sharrel. I'm sure you will love it here.
    Old 08-27-2007, 08:57 PM