Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums >
  • Machine Embroidery
  • Embroidery Machines Lets Chat & Have Fun >
  • Embroidery Machines Lets Chat & Have Fun

• Embroidery Machines Lets Chat & Have Fun

Old 10-20-2013, 07:49 PM

At PIQF I looked at the Artista 7, it's the latest edition. Since I'm new to this, I'd like to know: what digitizing system do you have and what do you like about it?
    Old 10-21-2013, 01:30 AM
    Power Poster

Mannem I have the same machine. Try threading it with UNWAXED dental floss a few times. If that doesn't work, try removing the plastic bobbin case cover then the metal one & clean it.
    Make SURE you replace the metal one 1st then the plastic one.
    Old 10-21-2013, 06:10 AM

Originally Posted by snow
    Does anyone know if u can emborider on a pair of leggings 50 poly and 50 spandex without hurting the memory? and if u can how do u put them on the hoops or do u? thanks
    I have not tried this, but I did look it up. I have a book by Deborah Jones "Machine Embroidery on Difficult Materials" that has really great information. 1. Needle - use a light or medium ball point needle depending on the weight of the fabric. 2. Stabilizer - Do not stretch while hooping. Use fusible cut-away stabilizer. (She recommends Fusible PolyMesh) If using a non-fusible polymesh then pull slightly when hooping with a lightweight strong cut-away stabilizer. She also recommends hooping a lightweight water soluble topper to keep the machine from pushing the knit. When you unhoop the project it will pucker a bit, but when worn will lay flat. Hope this helps! Jane
    Old 10-22-2013, 10:08 AM

I have a question I'm asking for a friend who is doing some embroidery for her daughter. Her daughter asked her to make her veil. She wants her to embroider on it using metallic threads. How would you go about stabilizing it ( what type to use) and/or how would you keep from moving, etc.. Any tips and/or suggestions?
    Old 10-22-2013, 01:25 PM