Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums >
  • Main
  • Could Someone Advise me on How to Design a Personalised Quilt for My Sister? >
  • Could Someone Advise me on How to Design a Personalised Quilt for My Sister?

• Could Someone Advise me on How to Design a Personalised Quilt for My Sister?

Old 07-22-2024, 03:47 AM

Smile Could Someone Advise me on How to Design a Personalised Quilt for My Sister?

Hello Everyone

I hope you are doing well. I want to reach you in an effort to get some guidance and opinions from other quilters who are fans about constructing a customised quilt for my sister. Since she works frequently in a cold workshop as a creator, I want to make something that is comfortable and supports creativity.

Before you ask, let me tell you that I have been binding for a few years and have completed a number of projects, from easy lap comforters to more complex bed quilts. However, the fact that this work is for a really special person makes it feel extremely important to me. I'm hoping it represents her imagination in addition to offering comfort.
    • My sister loves contemporary art and frequently uses bright colours and shapes in her works. I am trying to figure out how to make this into a quilt pattern. Have any of you created quilts influenced by sculptures or abstract art? Do you have any suggestions for arrangements of colours and patterns that inspire confidence and creativity?
    • Which kinds of fabric would you suggest; understanding that the quilt needs to be warm? While I have been eager to hear suggestions for other materials that would be good for warming and visual appeal; I am thinking of using a combination of cotton and silk.
    • My sister works frequently feature a lot of appearance; so I want to add some interest to the fabric as well. Which certain embroidery methods and decoration work best for you when it comes to giving the fabric texture and thoroughness?