Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums >
  • Main
  • Densely quilted..after washing? >
  • Densely quilted..after washing?

• Densely quilted..after washing?

Old 07-15-2013, 08:48 AM

Default Densely quilted..after washing?

I am totally new to longarm quilting (still in my meandering stage). I have seen some BEAUTIFUL custom quilting (quilted very densely) but I have been wondering, what do these quilts look like after washing? Or are they intended to never be washed? After washing, can you still see the quilting designs? I would love to see a picture of a densely quilted quilt that has been washed.

Thanks
    Kim
    Old 07-15-2013, 08:57 AM

Default Densely Quilted - after washing?

Not sure if this is dense enough for you but I did a lot of quilting especially in the squares on this T-shirt quilt that ended up being a queen size when done. I used a low-loft cotton batting and tried to do quilting in every square. I washed it already and it came out very soft and actually more puffy and cuddley. I would expect even densely quilted quilts would be more soft and cuddley after washing as well. I suppose it does depend on what the actual intentions are for the quilt. If it's meant to be a wall hanging then I would expect to press the quilt on the back after washing just to give it a very finished look. Otherwise, I would want it to look 'loved' and used.
    Attached Thumbnails tshirtquiltdone.jpg  
    Old 07-15-2013, 10:00 AM
    Power Poster

Yes, they still look great after washing, sometimes even better than before.
    Old 07-15-2013, 10:01 AM

Yes... dense quilting looks fine after washing. I find that it helps the over all life expectancy!
    Old 07-15-2013, 10:21 AM