Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums >
  • Main
  • Do you iron your seams open? >
  • Do you iron your seams open?

• Do you iron your seams open?

Old 06-05-2024, 09:40 AM

Default Do you iron your seams open?

I've noticed that when I iron a patch with the seams ironed in in the same directiion, and tI forms a little lump . This seems to change the size of the patch a tiny bit and throws off the complede size of the block . I was wondering if anyone irons the seams open, or how they treat the seam so it does not change the size of the patch,
    Old 06-05-2024, 09:45 AM
    Power Poster

I now iron my seams open. I used to iron to the dark and then noticed some professional quilters suggesting ironing open gives a better result. Leah Day devoted a video to dispelling myths such as the seams would be weaker (they aren't) and other myths. I have been doing this for several years and it seems to work better for me. My quilts do not have weak seams.
    Old 06-05-2024, 09:55 AM
    Power Poster

I don't, because it takes more time and I don't want to burn my fingers. I have my seam allowance set up so that I still get accuracy. But it's a personal choice, just like almost everything else in quilting. Do what gives you the best result.
    Old 06-05-2024, 01:29 PM

I started quilting in the late 70s before the rotary revolution and although I've tried to the side, I've almost always pressed open. I came from garment sewing and it made sense to me. For the most part, early quilting books and patterns didn't discuss seams very often, not on the pressing or even the size.

I am a big believer in pressing my seams open and have my reasons for it, biggest is for me it makes them much more accurate. I like having "one rule" instead press to the dark except here and here and there and that....I believe that pressing to the side is an artifact (leftover rule) of hand sewing and that with sewing machines and irons and well woven fabric is just not necessary nor ideal.