Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums >
  • Main
  • Do you just need to do an easy one sometimes? >
  • Do you just need to do an easy one sometimes?

• Do you just need to do an easy one sometimes?

Old 01-17-2011, 12:46 PM

I bought all kinds of challenging kits and patterns over the past year. But I was getting burnt out. I think because of the constant challenge. Everything I was touching was either a new technique or complex paper piecing or lots of triangles.

So over the weekend, I did a simple charms laptop. It was great. Looks good to a non-quilter and the most thinking I had to do was nesting seams. I had an enjoyable no brainer weekend.

Now to some SID and I am done.
    Old 01-17-2011, 12:49 PM

I have been quilting for 40 years , but yes there are times I really just want something easy! It is very cleansing of my brain to do something simple,easy and not challenging after a few projects that stretched my skills and patience.
    Old 01-17-2011, 12:50 PM
    Power Poster

That is an interesting question. As I am progressing in my skill set, I realize that even the "simple" ones are tricky. 4-patch has to match the seams. Rail Fence has to maintain the correct placement to be right. But yes, it is nice to alternate.
    Old 01-17-2011, 12:51 PM

Yes, I love to throw a few easy ones in when I can!
    Old 01-17-2011, 12:52 PM

I go through perios when I just can't get to the machine. Have no idea what causes it. But simple quilts can be so easy yet so good for the soul. And people love them, just as if you put in 4 times much more time
    Power Poster

Yes, sometimes one that doesn't take as much concentration on the piecing and placements :D:D:D