Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums >
  • Main
  • Going in circles >
  • Going in circles

• Going in circles

Old 04-16-2013, 04:57 AM

Default Going in circles

I'm trying to learn to quilt with my regular sewing machine. I was trying to make circles but the thread on the bottom keeps getting long loops sometimes. Not always so I'm not sure what I'm doing wrong. I adjusted the tension. I'm wondering if on those places if I am going too fast? Anyone have any advice? I'm strictly self taught and have been hand quilting until now. Thanks.
    Old 04-16-2013, 05:08 AM
    Power Poster

If you are FMQ circles? they can be tricky. Work out the tension on a sample for a balanced stitch. Once the stitch is a balanced it is a matter of keeping your speed and your hand movements consistent. Going around the corners too fast can create eyelashes on the bottom.
    Old 04-16-2013, 05:15 AM

Location: My favorite place in the world is Lake Erie Region USA

Read online manuel if you don't have it. Watch youtube videos on tension. Lots to help you understand tension..including bobbin holder! Good luck!
    Ell
    Old 04-16-2013, 05:19 AM
    Power Poster

I would adjust my speed before I adjusted my tension. I never fool with tension. I have gotten eyelashes if I go to fast around a curve. But I am using very plain mechanical machines.
    Old 04-16-2013, 06:28 AM