Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums >
  • Main
  • Help me spend 25 bucks >
  • Help me spend 25 bucks

• Help me spend 25 bucks

Old 10-13-2011, 11:40 AM

My mom sent me an Amazon.com gift card for my birthday ... $25 value. I was wondering, does anyone have a suggestion for a book (or two)? Something in your quilting library that you refer to all the time, or something that has a lot of helpful tips and tricks, or maybe just something with some really fabulous patterns (bearing in mind of course that I am still a beginner!). Thank you!!
    Old 10-13-2011, 11:44 AM

Originally Posted by GiddyUpGo
    My mom sent me an Amazon.com gift card for my birthday ... $25 value. I was wondering, does anyone have a suggestion for a book (or two)? Something in your quilting library that you refer to all the time, or something that has a lot of helpful tips and tricks, or maybe just something with some really fabulous patterns (bearing in mind of course that I am still a beginner!). Thank you!!
    Are you able to add about 55 dollars to that $25 you could get yourself a kindle for $79. And then you can download tons of free books. I love my kindle and won't trade it for anything.
    I am into the Twilight Saga by Stephanie Meyers. There are 4 books in the series.
    I know that there are quilting books on the site. Good luck in whatever you decide to buy with your Gift Card and Happy Birthday to you. :)
    Old 10-13-2011, 11:48 AM

I buy all my books used from Alibris.com now. I do check the Amazon site for reviews of books I might find. I would use the $25.00 for something else, the kindle idea is interesting.
    Old 10-13-2011, 11:50 AM

What is your favorite type of quilting? Or do you prefer to read? I think you could find a nice book in that price range. Did you mention to your Mom about a certain book? Maybe that is why she sent you the gift certificate? Be sure and let us know what you decide on..happy stitchin' or errr reading... crafty_linda_b