Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums >
  • Main
  • Her quilting world will never be the same >
  • Her quilting world will never be the same

• Her quilting world will never be the same

Old 07-24-2011, 07:47 AM

I posted about my "closet" quilting friend with the color issues. Well it went swimmingly as they say across the pond. She is not colorblind. She is just self taught and missed a few educational steps along the way.

She came about 7 in the evening because she had storm damage from the night before. We worked in true fabrics. I pulled probably 100 different fabrics from my stash, some as small as scraps, lots of FQ's and some yardage. She brought along another 10 that she thought would go from her stash plus what we bought the other day for the orange, yellow and green quilt. We put them on my dining room table and foyer floor using a good light and my huge white cutting mat and the off white of the foyer tile as design boards.

I pulled a basket of oranges, yellows and greens left overs and she could take any, all or none of it that she wanted.

Lessons learned....one, she saw the difference viewing fabrics in the size you were going to use them versus yardage, the difference in the color of lighting and the advantage of using white background. Her sewing room is coral/pink and while mine is green, I dont match fabrics there and she does.

Two, once she saw my stash (which is really planned quilts in containers mostly) she saw that Moda, Kaufman, etc, made lines of fabric that were all dye matched. The salvage concept...was nothing she knew about. She has purchased her fabric at sidewalk sales or garage sales etc. When she did buy fabric at a LQS or chain she didnt look at the manufacturer etc, she just walked through the store picking up bolts.