Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums >
  • Main
  • How to attach a hanging sleeve to a quilt? I hate hand sewing! >
  • How to attach a hanging sleeve to a quilt? I hate hand sewing!

• How to attach a hanging sleeve to a quilt? I hate hand sewing!

Old 03-10-2017, 04:42 AM

Default How to attach a hanging sleeve to a quilt? I hate hand sewing!

Hi there,
    Is there a fast an easy way to attach a hanging sleeve to a wall hanging quilt? I just hate to hand sew, I'm not good at this and it takes me about an hour to do it. Is there any other way? I would love to be able to do it with my sewing machine.
    Thanks!
    Annie
    Old 03-10-2017, 04:56 AM
    Power Poster

If it only takes you an hour to sew on a hanging sleeve count your blessings! some people machine sew the top part of the sleeve on when they do their binding but you must do the bottom part by hand, otherwise your stitches will show on the right side of the quilt.

There are many tutes on the net. Just Google "how to attach a hanging sleeve to a quilt" and you will get many hits.
    Old 03-10-2017, 05:04 AM

If you aren't putting it in a show, hanging tabs are quick and easy. But unfortunately, they are hand sewn also.
    Old 03-10-2017, 05:19 AM

I've hung quilts with the sleeve method for years and agree that it is labor intensive--but a couple years ago I decided to try the wooden clips that are sold for this purpose. They are wonderful. It's 2 pieces of wood. One attaches to the wall and the other attaches to that with a screw that encloses the edge of the quilt. For a big quilt you need 5. I change my quilts seasonally and this is really much easier.
    Old 03-10-2017, 05:53 AM

I forgot to say that I mainly do small wall hanging quilts (36 X 45 ). Since those are commission quilts, I want a "fool proof" hanging system that will not require too much handling by my customer.
    Old 03-10-2017, 05:55 AM

Originally Posted by feline fanatic