Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums >
  • Main
  • How do I... >
  • How do I...

• How do I...

Old 12-07-2010, 10:17 AM

I am very new to quilting, also to sewing. I have just finished a twin quilt top, got it sandwiched and am trying to std. When it is done, how to I trim it evenly so I can bind it. I know you have to square off the corners, but how do I lay it out to have the sides all trimmed evenly? I am totally boggled by the thoughts of this. I need to get this done before Christmas as it is a gift for my dd who will be leaving for college on Jan 2 and I won't see her for at least six months. The quilt is so she will have something to wrap around her when she misses her mom.
    Old 12-07-2010, 10:20 AM

I use the largest table I have, and just slide my mat and ruler along. It helps if you have a large square ruler to help keep square.
    Old 12-07-2010, 10:26 AM
    Power Poster

I usually measure my quilted top before I do any trimming, just to get an idea of how even (or off) the borders are.

Then I clean off my table and lay the quilt with one corner on the cutting mat. (gotta start somewhere, right?) I use two rulers for the squaring process: A large square one, and a long rectangular one. I lay the square one on the corner of the quilt and look at the lines going in both directions. Usually, I find a straight line on the border to get my bearings because it is important to me to have reasonable symmetry.

When I have picked my "guideline" I simply trim the edge in one direction. I generally leave the top and slide the cutting mat along the edge. Use the edge of the already cut part to align the ruler for the next piece on the straight-away. As soon as you near the next corner, I switch back to the square template. Repeat til you have all 4 sides done.

It's a good idea to zigzag the edges down -using the walking foot - before adding the binding, but you don't have to.
    Old 12-07-2010, 10:27 AM