Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums >
  • Main
  • How would you quilt this? >
  • How would you quilt this?

• How would you quilt this?

Old 03-20-2011, 06:31 AM

I have a mid-arm quilt frame set up, have had for years, I want to quilt this quilt of mine, but not sure of what would look nice. I have been doing my own and family quilts for about 3 or 4 years now, but only just starting recently to branch out some. I was going to have this one sent out, but have figured a way to fit it on my frame.
    The problem is that I haven't done much more than large stipples and meandering. I have done a few pantos, but need to constantly challenge myself to do more.
    Having a mid-arm, I only have about 5" of quilt-space at a time, so I need my patterns to be that size or smaller.
    I am not good at picking out designs though.
    What design would you recommend?
    Attached Thumbnails attachment-172310.jpe  
    Old 03-20-2011, 06:36 AM

Very pretty quilty. I am in the same fix as your for quilting. Will be watching for info.
    Old 03-20-2011, 07:06 AM

i love the quilt sorry i am no help as to how to quilt it
    Old 03-20-2011, 07:41 AM

It is a beautiful quilt. I had to look at it awhile to combine your skill level with something to show off the piecing.
    So here's my 2 cents, since I don't know the size of the blocks, outline the small 4 blocks and then meander (or put a star or other shape) where the large 4 patches meet.
    Old 03-20-2011, 07:47 AM

Funny i have the mega quilter which has been sitting for over a month now and i am scared to touch it...lol so i asked the owner of a LQS i went to yesterday and she gave me a website for tear a way patterns for quilting which is a wonderful idea and gives me practice for FMQ. Here is the website:
    www.quiltingmadeeasy.com

I searched for 5" because that is what i have but didn't find any so i am going to call them to find out.
    Good luck
    Old 03-20-2011, 12:10 PM