Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums >
  • Main
  • I know this is a dumb question, but.... >
  • I know this is a dumb question, but....

• I know this is a dumb question, but....

Old 03-19-2013, 12:45 PM

Default I know this is a dumb question, but....

Has anyone ever assembled your quilt blocks together using your serger? I would think it would cut down on raveling.
    Old 03-19-2013, 12:49 PM

I don't think it's a dumb question at all. I think my mom may have done some simple, large block quilts using the serger. I personally would be frightened of anything more complex but I'm not a serger expert.
    Old 03-19-2013, 12:51 PM

I have! I tried it on the last quilt I made . I really like how secure it is and the raveling is almost non existant. HOWEVER... It is kind of tough to manage that exact 1/4 in seam. I guess with lots of practice it will come easier. I will certainly try it again.
    Old 03-19-2013, 01:23 PM

FIRST off there is no DUMB questions, only being dumb not asking. (not that your dumb!)

I have not tried it but I would worry that if one makes a mistake ~ unsewing would be a pain. Also as previous poster mentioned, getting a accurate 1/4" seam could be tough.
    Old 03-19-2013, 01:29 PM

I pieced the back of a quilt with the scraps from the front. The front was done the "regular"way, and the back on the serger. I couldn't tell the difference!!! I thought it went well, I have been serging along time, and didn't have an issue with seam allowances, it was scrappy, so if I made a mistake (did make 2 or 3) I just sliced off the seam allowance and went at it again. Now, granted, you can't do that when you are following an exact pattern!

My long-arm quilter did say it was noticeably thicker at the seam crossings, but she didn't have an issue with it. I made it in Oregon and shipped it to her in Alabama and she shipped it back...sort of a cross country journey!