Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums >
  • Main
  • Need help to organize my books?? >
  • Need help to organize my books??

• Need help to organize my books??

Old 11-09-2010, 02:47 PM

I have 1000's of magazines (mostly old ones) and at least that many quilt books in all categories --applique, scraps, samplers,miniatures,ect.ect. PLUS sets of books that came as a series. Question- How to put them so I can find them? At the moment are all boxed, but need idea how to put them Our library said by Author or publisher but that doesn't seem to work Have quilt magazines in order,in binders But refusing to buy more till can find what I already have. One problem is each author seems to call her pattern something else when is the same as X, Y and Z's Plus they put lots of different patterns in one book Driving me to ... crazy quilt- got those books too :idea: please
    Old 11-09-2010, 02:56 PM

I'm a retired librarian. When my sister lost her battle with colon cancer in 2001, she had over 2500 quilt books. The 1st thing I did was put them in order "alphabetically" by "title". That's the easiest way to find a particular book. Don't count "A", or "The" if it's the 1st word of title. Having books in order also helps eliminate purchasing duplicates. I then made a computer list with the basics - author, title, publisher, & copyright date. Once you have a computer list, you can easily find books by a particular author by doing a key word seardh in the document.
    Old 11-09-2010, 03:28 PM

Sorry for your loss. Did you use a special computer program to put them in order or try to arrange them then type in computer. I'm a two finger typer so even this takes me a while. Thanks might start out on paper seeing books downstairs and computer upstairs but could open one box at a time and start my list.
    Old 11-09-2010, 03:43 PM