Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums >
  • Main
  • New at Longarm quilting and set up >
  • New at Longarm quilting and set up

• New at Longarm quilting and set up

Old 09-18-2019, 07:02 AM

Default New at Longarm quilting and set up

I have a wood Grace frame 10 foot and a Bailey 17 long arm purchased for a $1000.00 There is a stitch regulator (Sew Control) on the machine and it works. I would prefer to use the foot control but cannot figure out how. Please help as I am new at this and trying to learn and have a lot of questions. I have looked at online sites about the encoders and how to use the stitch control. However my stitches are more even when using the foot control.
    Old 09-18-2019, 08:16 AM

Have you contacted Bailey's ? From what I've heard, they are extremely helpful.
    Old 09-18-2019, 08:44 AM
    Power Poster

For a true stitch regulator the machine's needle will only stitch when you move the machine so a foot control or simple on off should not make any difference. If you are getting varied stitch lengths it sounds to me like what you have is not a true stitch regulator (if the machine isn't moving the needle isn't moving) but sounds more like you have a speed control. I don't see anyway you can put a foot pedal on a rack mounted setup. The machine head is constantly moving the length of the rack. The foot controller could only work if you had the machine stationary in a table. Also where would the wires go?? So without knowing this machine I would have to say the short answer is no you can't use a foot controller on a rack mounted machine.