Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums >
  • Main
  • Organizing Scraps >
  • Organizing Scraps

• Organizing Scraps

Old Yesterday, 10:28 AM

Default Organizing Scraps

I have never tried to officially organize my scraps... I have always let them grow organically, in all shapes and sizes, and then cut them to size when I am making a quilt. Last month I went to a garage sale and they had Ziploc bags stuffed with random quilting scraps for 50¢ to a $1! Some were newer fabric, some were from the '80s and some were completely unusable. I decided to sort by color and then trim them down using Bonnie Hunter's scrap user system. I've never tried her system before, so I'm curious if others find it a solution to the craziness of scraps? I absolutely love scrap quilts, and in this economy, I am very grateful for my stash of scraps!

Also, lately the thought of cutting a million triangles or something for a quilt seems very daunting! I am wondering if having pre cut sizes of scraps ready to go, like BH scrap user system, would make it more manageable. I wonder if slowly trimming scraps down in a few spares minutes a day for the next couple of months would pay off in the long term. Thoughts?
    Old Yesterday, 11:58 AM

Short form: Yes, I think doing bits of scrap patrol with available moments of time and sorting is a fine way to organize/prepare fabric.for future project. Baggies are a wonderful way to store sorted little bits but they do slip and slide you might want something more the size of a shoebox to put the baggies in. I also found it handy when I was organizing to periodically count what I had and write it on a sticky pad size piece of paper inside the bag.