Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums >
  • Main
  • Question re: Bernina BSR and thread tension >
  • Question re: Bernina BSR and thread tension

• Question re: Bernina BSR and thread tension

Old 01-15-2012, 02:34 PM

Default Question re: Bernina BSR and thread tension

I am just learning to use the BSR on my new machine (440QE). According to the Bernina website, the BSR is supposed to "eliminate problems related to thread tension." Boy, that isn't the case for me. In addition to the usual learning curve with the BSR, all my samples look like the top tension is too loose and the bobbin tension is too tight, but when I adjust first one then the other (v-e-r-y carefully and just slightly on the bobbin tension,) there is little discrenible change and I keep getting loops all over the back. I've had the upper tension all the way up to 10 and the problem persisted.

Has anyone else encountered this and solved it? I need some ideas on how to get past this so I can concentrate on making smooth loops, etc.

Many thanks for any input.
    Old 01-15-2012, 02:42 PM

Have you tried threading the bobbin like you do for embroidery, running the thread through the little hole on the tiny arm that sticks up from the bobbin case? Your tension problems might also be related to trying to move the fabric too fast while the machine is not running fast enough. If you continue to have problems, perhaps you should take it in and show your Bernina dealer the problem you are experiencing...maybe they can help.
    Old 01-15-2012, 05:42 PM

Rethreading everything may help....sometimes I have to do this too....I think it just comes with the territory!
    Old 01-15-2012, 06:29 PM
    Power Poster