Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums >
  • Main
  • Quilting newbie; question about making a quilt sandwich: >
  • Quilting newbie; question about making a quilt sandwich:

• Quilting newbie; question about making a quilt sandwich:

Old 10-14-2012, 01:10 PM

Default Quilting newbie; question about making a quilt sandwich:

I have 2 small-ish (crib size and slightly larger) quilt tops that I've made, but am wondering how would be best to make the quilt sandwich to start sewing these layers together.

I saw online to tape the quilt ba
    ck to the floor, lay the batting on top, then the quilt top and smooth everything out....

My main question is what type of safety pins should I use? The
    curved ones seem like the best idea, but what size? And approx how many should I get?

And I'm looking to order online - how mu
    ch should these cost? I see a pack of 75, size 2 Dritz pins on Amazon for about $11. Is that a normal price? (seems kinda high to me, but I'm very new to this)

And are there any reputable quilt shops online that you like to order from/support?

Thanks
    Old 10-14-2012, 01:18 PM

The pins should be about 4 inches apart. I used the width of my palm and placed them away from seams (just easier that way). Start in the center and work your way to the edges, smoothing as you go. I place a small marble under the back to help with sticking the pins through. It raises the sandwich just enough you won't scratch your floor or pin to your carpet (yup, done that more than once). You can also use a grapefruit spoon to help close the pins and save your fingers.

If you will send me your address I can send you plenty. My hubby got me a frame and mid-arm and I no longer pin much. I would be happy to send you enough for a small quilt.
    Old 10-14-2012, 01:18 PM