Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums >
  • Main
  • Ruler Suggestion >
  • Ruler Suggestion

• Ruler Suggestion

Old 05-28-2024, 05:08 PM

Default Ruler Suggestion

I'm a beginner quilter and I'm also on a budget like many are. I've been considering buying one of 2 tools to add to my kit. I have a 61/2 square, 61/2 x 241/2 ruler a 9" 1/2 inch wide seams allowance tool but I'm trying to make my life easier. I'm considering the 15" 1/2 inch seam allowance tool or a creative grids 4-1 triangle. When I get to the point I want to make my son a queen size quilt with 6" finished size squares and HST. I've seen the video on the 4-1 and making 2 cuts for a finished size seems easier than 4 cuts. So I'm asking please for your thoughts and suggestions.... Thank you so very much. Wils
    Old 05-28-2024, 07:20 PM

You've got the ones I use the most. I don't have any advice on the others.
    Old 05-28-2024, 11:48 PM

My suggestion would be to consider the folded corner clipper tool by Creative Grids. It makes HSTs so easy and accurate without all that drawing of lines or complicated techniques.The corners are already clipped off so there is no trimming and the pieces always match perfectly. Layer the two colors you want to use, cut out the pieces and stitch. Perfect HSTs every time.They make two sizes depending on the final block size you want.https://www.creativegridsusa.com/products/CGRFCCXL
    Old 05-29-2024, 02:13 AM