Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums >
  • Main
  • Sewing machine suggestions for a new quilter >
  • Sewing machine suggestions for a new quilter

• Sewing machine suggestions for a new quilter

Old 08-07-2011, 05:56 PM

Hi! I am new to quilting, just starting to prepare for my first one. I have done a lot of sewing in the past, but i don't have a machine of my own. I was hoping to get some suggestions from the experts for what would be a good machine to buy, that will last a long time, isn't terribly complicated but has enough bells and whistles that i won't need to buy a new one when i (hopefully) get a little better at quilting. I would like to keep the price under $500. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.
    Thanks!!
    Heather
    Old 08-07-2011, 06:01 PM

Try to get one at a yard sale or at Walmart to keep the price low. IF you can find a zigzag, it may hold you for many years. Make sure you love it first before you spend all that money.
    Old 08-07-2011, 06:12 PM

I don't know what kind of quilting you intend to do but I recently got this one off Amazon:

http://www.amazon.com/Brother-Afford...1933362&sr=8-1

It comes with 3 quilting feet. I haven't used it yet. Just got it Tuesday. I've been doing my piecing with a Jannome 3128 and got this Brother hoping I'll be able to do my version of stitch-in-the-ditch, which won't be in the ditch, but alongside it.
    Old 08-07-2011, 06:14 PM
    Banned

go to a shop that sells and repairs machines. Ask for a good used one. You don't need a lot of fancy stuff. Good straight sewing, able to drop feed dogs is about all you need to start. Many like the old straight sewing machines for their durability. Don't worry about fancy at this point when you are starting. Also be sure it is one that you can get a 1/4" foot and walking foot and darning foot for.
    Old 08-07-2011, 06:17 PM

Originally Posted by Holice