Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums >
  • Main
  • Stitches per inch >
  • Stitches per inch

• Stitches per inch

Old 03-23-2009, 02:52 PM
    Banned

Ladies, for those who hand quilt, about how many stitches per inch do you normally put in? And is there a certain type of needle you prefer to use or just any old needle will do?

I ask because I was hand quilting for the first time yesterday. I had the quilt in my new hoop, figured out how to make an invisible knot and I was ready to go! Except that going in and out with the needle ... it just looked like the stitches were too far apart but I couldn't get them any closer because of the snugness (is that a word?) of the fabric in the hoop.
    Old 03-23-2009, 02:59 PM

I am no expert but one thing I do remember being told that more important than the number of stitches per inch was that the stitches be of uniform size and equal distance from each other. Also try slackening off the material in the hoop it should not be too taught.
    Katherine
    Old 03-23-2009, 03:27 PM

I get 4 to 5 stitches in an inch. I buy number 7 tweens quilting needles. They slide through the the fabric easier and like MAXIES said loosen up your hoop
    Old 03-23-2009, 03:34 PM
    Power Poster

I use number 9 betweens and the one thing I remember reading here is that the fabric should not be snug like it is when you cross stitch or embroider. I think if you use the search button for hand quilting someon has explained how they do it really well ! I just used it to brush up on my hand quilting :lol: I don't count my stitches so I am no help there sorry, but I know mine are not tiny :wink:
    Sharon
    Old 03-23-2009, 03:41 PM