Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums >
  • Main
  • For Vintage & Antique Machine Enthusiasts
  • HELP: Vintage Sewing Machine for Denim >
  • HELP: Vintage Sewing Machine for Denim

• HELP: Vintage Sewing Machine for Denim

Old 07-24-2023, 01:05 PM

Exclamation HELP: Vintage Sewing Machine for Denim

Hi everyone! I'm a beginner sewer looking to buy a heavy duty sewing machine that can handle stitching together denim.

I've been looking at used sewing machines, but am not sure if they are good quality or easy for a beginner to use. Ideally I am looking for an investment that I can use until I'm older. If anyone has any other recommendations of newer machines around ~$250, that would also be great! The machines I found are listed below:
    • Singer 348 (vintage)
    • Singer HD110
    • Singer 248 (vintage)
    • Brother SQ9050
    • BROTHER Festival 431 (vintage)
    Old 07-24-2023, 01:28 PM
    Power Poster

My Singer 237 could sew up to 4 layers of heavyweight denim without complaining. Six layers with a little coaxing.

That was using a denim needle.

Singer 237 - 1960s era. Straight stitch and zigzag.

All machines need a heavier weight needle when sewing fabrics like denim.
    Old 07-24-2023, 01:38 PM

I'm not familiar with any of the machines you list. Here's a Youtuber doing a long term evaluation of a Singer HD44xx you might find useful:
    https://www.youtube.com/playlist?lis...4JleQTtu0j3tjY

He has other videos.

Here are a couple of people I find interesting regarding vintage sewing machines:
    https://www.youtube.com/@VintageSewingMachineGarage
    https://www.youtube.com/@BobFowlerWorkshop

And a video I watched the other day about exactly what you're doing, looking for a first machine. I thought the presenter did a nice job breaking it down:
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pAtj...ist=LL&index=6

"What machine should I buy?" is a big topic ...