Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums >
  • Main
  • For Vintage & Antique Machine Enthusiasts
  • Treadle Choice Help: Singer 9W7 or Seamstress (badged National/New Home Series B) >
  • Treadle Choice Help: Singer 9W7 or Seamstress (badged National/New Home Series B)

• Treadle Choice Help: Singer 9W7 or Seamstress (badged National/New Home Series B)

Old 06-10-2024, 11:50 AM

Default Treadle Choice Help: Singer 9W7 or Seamstress (badged National/New Home Series B)

I only have space for one treadle, and I want to sew on it. What would YOU recommend? I am okay to refurbish, oil, restore machines. I want to sew, piece/quilt on whatever I get, and I'm new to treadling but already have a Singer 15-30 treadle at my vacation home (works well).

1. Singer 9W7 in a fairly decent 7 drawer ornate singer treadle cabinet (#5-6?). Has instruction book, some misc attachments strewn in the drawers, has the slide covers, uses round bobbin? but not sure if it's the large 'donut' kind. One cabinet hinge is broken, so the head is out of the cabinet. Head was loved (sewn with), edge decals worn through, rest decal set looks good. Cost: $100.

2. Seamstress (National machine badged?) in a decent, flip top light/med oak ornate 7 drawer treadle cabinet. Head has the vibrating shuttle slide look (front slide is missing), missing the needle clamp (may be in the parts bag). DOES have the shuttle. The tension is that weird 3 prong top plate (flat tension)? and the wheel is the divided spoke version like a Damascus (another badged National). No instructions. Few attachments, but maybe a set of New Home B will work. I'm guessing it's a 20x1 needle it takes. The cabinet needs polish, but it's beautiful. Decals on head are worn in the front, but rest are in good shape. Cost: $300. Note: from original buyer's family, bought in Toronto Canada, 1885 or a bit later.

Gosh, please help. What would you pick and why?